Forum

Hello Everyone!

My call sign is “jetstar”

I am an old dude, age is 73 - I like to think of it as experience (50 years as a professional pilot)

My internet connection is good 400mps via cable.

I live in the Central time zone of the US (-6)

I retired last year as a simulator instructor with Southwest Airlines so have plenty of time during the week and weekends. Not much availability in the evenings.

I am pretty new to the DCS world, my total time in DCS about 120 hours, most of it in helicopters. I just started flying the Ka-50 and fell in love with it! Awesome machine! I actually have around 1500 hours in the actual UH-1H  flying with the US Army. I flew commercial helicopters for 20 years, many different machines, then I went to the dark side and flew the 737 for 26 years.

i have no experience with the Mission Editor but am willing to learn.

I have 2 favorite choppers in DCS, the UH-1 and the Ka-50. I think I would like to mostly fly the Ka-50 so I can learn it. It is a steep learning curve and I just love flying it. I will also be available to fly the UH-1.

I expect to really enjoy flying with the BSD guys. I am passionate (very passionate!) about flying. I especially miss flying helicopters, they were my first love in aviation! I find flying in DCS world gives me feeling of flying that I miss so much. I am also a very experienced flight instructor in the real world and after I get my DCS skills up to a high enough level I would really like to give back by doing some instruction for the BSD guys. 

looking forward to flying with you guys.

best 

Jetstar

• Re: New Application - Jetstar

by » 3 years ago

OK, wow what a great introduction. 50 years as a pilot, nice.

Welcome to the group sir, first thing to do is get you on our discord chat and get you a intro flight. We try to go by the army SOP but not as hard core. This is a sim and while we try to stay as you would in real life we also know this is just fun.