New Application

in RECRUITMENT 4 years ago

Greetings!

Callsign: Smokey

Internet connection: 1 gig 

Timezone: Zulu-5 (Central) 

Availability: Most evenings 2000-2200, days and weekends in summer

Approx. flight hours: 5 or so

Familiarity with Mission Editor: Little to none but am a quick study. 

Preferred chopper: UH-1 but am willing to learn any that is needed. 

Expectations from BSD:

I'm a science teacher by trade as well as a wildland firefighter in the summers. I work around helicopters for my fire job and am constantly trying to learn more. This squad seems a perfect fit from both the teaching and the learning aspect. I'd expect a bit of grace in the beginning as I start to learn the ropes and then as I hopefully become proficient, transition into helping others learn and become better. It seems a perfect blend of knowledge, structure, participation, and fun that brought me to you. 

I hope to become part of the team

Sincerely,

Smokey 

• Re: New Application

by » 4 years ago

Welcome Smokey,

Thanks for your application, I think you have summed up the Blackshark Den perfectly in that one sentence.

"It seems a perfect blend of knowledge, structure, participation, and fun"

Firstly we will try to set up an Introduction Flight (IF) with you and one of the Instructor pilots or unit trainers. It can be any time that you and a Unit trainer or Instructor pilot are free. I see you fly the UH-1, great, There are plenty of Huey drivers here from both sides of the Atlantic.

The IF gives you a good chance to see what we do, how we do and make up your mind if it is for you.
    It also gives us a good chance to see where you are with your skills and what if anything you need to work on.

Very informal just a flight around the base and maybe a flight out to a ship and back. A chance to chat and get to know each other.