Forum

Hi, I'm 48 and use the call-sign Redline, because rotorcraft under fire seems like a very thin red line. Though I'm sure the feeling of being on a blade's edge of death is much worse in real life. I have a 20Mbps Broadband Internet connection in the Zulu timezone, United Kingdom.

My availability is flexible, but it depends on workload. I'm a software developer by trade. Hard to guestimate how much time I've spent over the years in DCS. Must be hundreds if not thousands of hours. It's been my cheap flight training option, since real training in the United Kingdom is pretty steep. My DCS mission editing skills are minimal. Haven't spent too long in the editor. Mainly because I normally do that kind of thing for work, not play.

I tend to prefer the lighter helicopters. Guess that's due to my experience with R22. I did some training hours at a helicopter flight school a year or so ago in Scotland. So if I was to pick a favourite, I'd pick SA342 at present. Though I'm looking forward to flying Polychop's BO-105. But I also like the Huey. The UH-1's flight model feels slightly closer to real life: more ground effect, better translational lift and more realistic autorotation compared to the Gazelle. Not that I've ever flown a Huey, or a Gazelle. It just feels more right, if you know what I mean. Love the Mi-8 too, though it feels like the rotorised version of a tank. Hope they do an Mi-24 one day; now that would be a buster of tanks!

I have no expectations. I'm too easy-going for that. Well, mostly. I'm not a gamer as such; more of a sim'er. I like realistic. That's why I like DCS. The more realistic the better; the harder the better. You chaps seem to be that way too. Slightly masochistic? Any way, I like flying as a team; flying alone in a battle simulation seems wrong. First, you can't learn from others. Second, the lone-wolf is more vulnerable, and less disciplined. That amounts to failure. The team succeeds, not the loner.

• Re: Application for Redline